The Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®) is a standardized test administered by the College Board and cosponsored by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Students take this test in the fall usually during the 10th or 11th grade school day.

The PSAT is often taken as a practice for the SAT, but it also allows eligible juniors to enter into the National Merit Scholarship Program.

The PSAT prepares high school sophomores and juniors for the SAT test and is used to determine eligibility for college scholarship programs.

PSAT Scoring System

  • The total scoring range for the PSAT is 320-1520.
  • Scores are calculated based on the number of questions a test-taker answers correctly.
  • Unlike in the past, the latest version of the PSAT does not include a penalty for incorrect answers.

The PSAT is a three-section group exam that takes 2 hours and 45 minutes to complete.

The PSAT is a three-section group exam that takes 2 hours and 45 minutes to complete.

S.N. Section Total # of




(in min.)

Question Types Grid-in Types Question Exam Scale


1 Writing and Language 44 35 44 8-38
2 Reading 47 60 47 8-38
3 Math 48 70 40 8 8-38
3.1 Ø  Math (No calculator) 17 25 13 4
3.2 Ø  Math (Calculator) 31 45 27 4

The PSAT is a nine-sub/cross scores, which comes under above three-section group.

S.N. Sub/Cross

Score Name





1 Heart of Algebra Math 1-15
2 Problem Solving & Data Analysis Math 1-15
3 Passport to Adv. Math Math 1-14
4 Expression of Idea Writing and Language 1-15
5 Standard English Conventions Writing and Language 1-15
6 Words in Context Reading 1-15
7 Command of Evidence Reading 1-15
8 Analysis in History/Social studies Writing and Language/Math/Reading 1-38
9 Analysis in Science Writing and Language/Math/Reading 1-38

To score high students can use Socrato to practice online and get insights beyond scores. Socrato’s Companion Series helps you get the most from your Official Study Guide.

Tagged with →